blank member page

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by stefan84, Sep 17, 2012.

  1. stefan84

    stefan84 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, I have a problem with last version of amember 3.

    I upgraded my hosting php to version 5.3 and I encountered a problem when users login.
    They do log in successfully, but the classic member.php page appears completely white.

    I'm pretty sure that the problem is due to updating of php, because I just found the problem of aMember.

    Can someone help me figure out how to fix this?
  2. johnww

    johnww Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    I have the same problem after upgrading amember 3 to apache 2.4 and php5.4.
  3. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,279
    Please submit ticket to helpdesk, we will check what can be wrong.
  4. johnww

    johnww Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    We recently upgraded our amember 3.2.4 system to apache 2.4 and php 5.4.11. This is on an Amazon Linux AMI.

    After the upgrade, pages like members.php were blank after login.

    I found this type of message in the apache log:

    [Mon Feb 25 03:28:48.867240 2013] [:error] [pid 12651] [client 77.109.115.185:52776] PHP Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/printscience/public_html/amember/plugins.inc.php on line 481, referer: https://printscience.com/amember/admin/index.php?page=menu&PHPSESSID=bqb88530j74poc974m53jv3fd5

    In php.ini, I tested this for error reporting:

    error_reporting E_ALL & ~E_STRICT

    but this did not work.

    Other internet sites say that disabling STRICT error reporting should cannot be done dynamically (in php.ini) but should be done in the code itself.

    I would like to know which files we can edit so as to disable STRICT error reporting.
  5. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,279
  6. johnww

    johnww Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    I understand that we must disable E_STRICT. My problem is this:

    I have tried to disable E_STRICT in php.ini but the problem persisted.

    I read an article online that suggested that these errors occurred during "compilation" rather than at runtime. Therefore, in order to prevent the errors, code like this needed to be inserted into the php code itself:

    ini_set('display_errors','0'); error_reporting(E_ALL | E_STRICT);
    My question is this:
    Into which file should I insert the above code?
  7. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,279
    Try to place this code to /amember/config.inc.php at the top of the file. Let me know if this doesn't help.
  8. johnww

    johnww Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    I tested adding this code to config.inc.php:

    ini_set('display_errors','0'); error_reporting(E_ALL | E_STRICT);
    Unfortunately, the PHP errors continued in apache24 + php5.4
    I have returned to apache22 and php 5.3

Share This Page