Getting Price Info into Tracking Script

Discussion in 'Integration' started by David Hooper, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. David Hooper

    David Hooper Guest

    Similar problem to Bill123's post.

    Working with Proanalyzer to do split test on price. Need a way for the tracking script to use the price charged.

    Tracking is called via an image tag on the thank you page, thanks.html.

    Code is...

    <img src="http://www.server.com/cgi-bin/pa/action.cgi?action=sale&amount=15.00" height="1" width="1" border="0">

    Assuming a $15 price. But I am testing different prices.

    Would this work to get the price charged?

    <img src="http://www.server.com/cgi-bin/pa/action.cgi?action=sale&amount=$price" height="1" width="1" border="0">

    Thanks!!
  2. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    No.
    This will work (if inserted to thanks.html template):
    <img src="http://www.server.com/cgi-bin/pa/action.cgi?action=sale&amount={$payment.amount}" height="1" width="1" border="0">
  3. bill123

    bill123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Alex

    I thought maybe your answer is what I am looking for to insert data into img src tags on the thanks page. However, when I try to test a payment using the tag as you show it, when I view the source code of the page that gets loaded, it just says {payment.amount} and does not show the inserted amount. Is there something else I am missing?

    thanks

    Bill
  4. David Hooper

    David Hooper Guest

    Alex. Can't get this to work. It tracks the sale, but the price doesn't come through. Any other ideas?
  5. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    David, could you send me link of thanks.php page after sale?
    Which payment processor are you tried? Which aMember Pro version are you using?
  6. David Hooper

    David Hooper Guest

  7. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    Hmm, which payment processors are you using?
    It could be better to upgrade to latest version, then it will work.
  8. David Hooper

    David Hooper Guest

    Oops. Forgot to mention that.

    Using Paypal.
  9. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    Yes, with latest version it would work.
  10. shawnknight

    shawnknight Guest

    clixgalore

    I think I did this right, just put the code in your thanks.html in the /templates directory. This is for clixgalore which I am just setting up now. It sends the Paypal transaction id and the amount payed.

    <!--begin clixGalore code, copyright 2003 -->
    <img src="http://www.clixgalore.com/AdvTransaction.aspx?AdID=*YOURID*&SV={$payment.amount}&OID={$payment.receipt_id}" height="0" width="0" border="0">
    <!--end clixGalore code -->

    I noticed that the member and payment arrays are available and match the SQL database tables. Pretty slick and easy Alex!
  11. David Hooper

    David Hooper Guest

    Upgraded to 2.1.8 with a similar tracking code and mine seems to be working ok.

    Thanks for everybody for your help!
  12. bill123

    bill123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Alex -- we have 2.1.7 and it doesn't seem to work. Will 2.1.8 make the difference?

    If so, can you tell us what the minimal changes are necessary to get this to work using 2.1.8 files -- we plan to do a complete upgrade, but are moving servers soon and prefer to wait until we do the move.

    thanks

    Bill

Share This Page