How do I view membership pages from host?

Discussion in 'aMember Pro v.4' started by scoull, Sep 6, 2012.

1. scoull

scoull New Member

First excuse me if this all sounds silly to some but I am a complete novice and will prob need step by step help here.

I have my website, built on dreamweaver, and hosted by Go Daddy.

Recently I have installed aMemeber Pro (latest version).

What I want to do is ensure is that when paid members login they are directed to the members page of my website.

I have read somewhere that if I just do a link to the members page and if anyone keeps the url they can then just type this into their web browser and have access to the page, even if cancelling their subscription.

Do I have to place the members page somewhere inside the aMemeber files on Go Daddy to protect it and if so where?

At present they are just as hmtl files (index.html and members.html) in the main directory.

I will need the exact steps to take please (and be gentle with me as I mentioned earlier am a complete novice).

Thanks in advance
  2. benfitts

benfitts Member

3. scoull

scoull New Member

Thanks for your assistance but there are no upload or browse tabs showing anywhere on the File page. Only from Title down
  4. davidm1

davidm1 aMember User & Partner

What you want to do is put the dreamweaver files in a directory in your hosting account- like /private/
    then use amember protection, protect content, folder, and protect /private/ with amember new rewrite protection. This will force members to be logged in to access the files in the directory.

David
  5. scoull

scoull New Member

Thanks for your help but in the end what I did was copy the members page directly into the protected area of aMember.

Protect Content
    Pages
    New Record
    Gave it a title (Members Area)
    Copied members page from my website into the editable area.
    Access Permissions (gave permission for subscribers)
    Saved