htpasswd_shared the way to import existing htpasswd?

Discussion in 'Setting-up protection' started by Rob Beschizza, Jun 10, 2004.

  1. Rob Beschizza

    Rob Beschizza New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Hi,

    Amember looks to be great, but I'm having trouble importing our existing htpasswd into amember.

    If I just take the file and use the "import" function in the control panel, then it assumes the encrypted passwords are the *actual* passwords, then re-encrypts them in the new htpasswd.

    In other words, it expects visitors to enter the encypted version of their original password.

    I've manually edited amember's htpasswd and pasted in the correct encypted passwords, but everytime I add a new member, it reverts to the incorrect ones.

    htpasswd_shared looks to be a solution, by dynamically incorporating an extra htpasswd file - but I can't find anything about it in the manual. Is the first line in the form a relative file location for the old htpasswd? Also, in an old post, Alex said this feature was to be depreciated.

    I'll also point out that I think we have to use plain htaccess/htpasswd protection because of our server structure.

    Best regards,
    Rob Beschizza
  2. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    you can do the following:
    1 - import passwords as is;
    2 - add line :
    $config['accept_crypt'] = 1;
    to file amember/config.inc.php, before closing ?>
    this way aMember will check entered passwords, and if password is correct, it will save it in not-encrypted form;

    another way:
    1- generate new passwords for users;
    2- email new passwords to them;

    it is all valid for protection methods other than htpasswd_shared!

    WHILE you are using htpasswd_shared, you MUST NOT import existing .htpasswd records. Please read plugin description carefully to understand why.

    If you want aMember to manage these members, use protection method OTHER than htpasswd_shared.

    If you want your billing or existing script or something else to maintain your existing members in .htpasswd, USE htpasswd_shared, and DON'T IMPORT these records to aMember.

    If something is not clear, feel free to ask us.
  3. jayzee

    jayzee New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    htpasswd solution

    Hi I think I have a similar problem, that I need to import a load of users form a htpasswd file, all the passwords are encrypted, but I need the easiest way of importing them into amember.

    generating new passwords and emailing them is out of the question as the owner of the site allowed users to originally sign up with out an email address.

    I would prefer in the long run to use a php include rather than the htaccess method but wiull have to settle for htaccess if it is the only way to import users.

    from what I have read this should be possible and if some one could run through the steps I would greatly appreciate it.

    as far I can see the passwords are currently stored as plain text, surely an easy option would be to convert the system over to storing all the passwords in an encrypted format and then I could just insert all my current records in from the htaccess file.

    thanks in advance

    Matt
  4. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
  5. jayzee

    jayzee New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    I have imported all my users and I can see them all stored with the passwords still encrypted I have added

    $config['accept_md5'] = 1;

    To the config.inc.php file

    And then tried to login in with a username and password but it just keeps refusing me entry sayng I have got the passsword wrong, am I doing something wrong

    Thanks for all the help
  6. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    I'm sorry, my mistake. Of course, it should be
    $config['accept_crypt'] = 1;
    instead of
    $config['accept_md5'] = 1;

    I fixed message above.

Share This Page