Integration issues

Discussion in 'Templates customization' started by mainestratman, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. mainestratman

    mainestratman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    I've followed the directions in the KB regarding the implementation of aMember into my future site, but have hit a snag while customizing the templates.. namely, the header/footer.

    I will be using my own header and footer php files so that I can use a php include statement for them on all the pages (standard procedure for me), and will be using other php scripts to maintain galleries, etc.

    So.. after I customized the header.html and footer.html and logged in with the test account, I was redirected to the member.php page which is now displaying the language strings (
    #_TPL_MEMBER_SUBSCR#, #_TPL_NEWSLETTER_SUBSCRIPTIONS#,
    #_TPL_NEWSLETTER_UNSUBSCRIBE#, etc.) and is not showing my left-hand column.

    In addition, it displays the page twice (two headers) and on the second instance of the page, it shows a gratuitous amount of Smarty errors:

    Code:
    Fatal error: Smarty error: [in footer.html line 10]: syntax error: unrecognized tag: // user is logged-in print "
    Hello $au[name_f].
    
    
    "; print "Logout"; (Smarty_Compiler.class.php, line 403) 
  2. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,437
    Its hard to guess what you may be doing without seeing the files.

    In member.html you are including your new header file, or are you including it in header.html?

    Whats the code you are using to include the file?

    David
  3. mainestratman

    mainestratman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi David.

    Right now, the only thing I've done is placed the header and footer from my template in header.html and footer.html, respectively. There is nothing "fancy" in there, just the traditional DOCTYPE, meta tags, and a link href to my stylesheet.

    I'm having FTP issues at the moment so I can't try this, but do I need to leave in the following code in header.html?

    Code:
    {if $config.lang.display_choice}{* Display Language choice if this option enabled *}
    <div style='width: 100%; text-align: right;'>
    {php}echo display_lang_choice();{/php}
    </div>
    {/if}
    <br /><br />
    <div class="centered">
    
    <h1>{$title}</h1>
    <hr />
    <br />
    
  4. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,437
    If all you've done is change the html, you shouldn't have a problem. But it sounds like you have PHP tags in there that are causing errors with the smarty system.

    David
  5. mainestratman

    mainestratman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    You nailed it.. thank you *very* much!

Share This Page