PHP issues.

Discussion in 'Customization & add-ons' started by juniorm, Nov 14, 2005.

  1. juniorm

    juniorm aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Hi,

    Bought and Installed the Pro version today.

    I setup a protected area for FREE registration and that seems to work fine.

    I'm a PHP newbie with basic HTML knowledge, but i'm a seasoned programmer

    I have a couple of questions:

    1. What would I have to do to run a special script once a user verifies his email address? (I'm programming a game's site, so need to setup the user with a team once they complete registration verification).

    2. Once in the protected section, I want to be able to extract information about the user: eg. login, name_f,name_l,country - how do i do this?
  2. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    1. You should read this:
    http://www.amember.com/docs/html/creatingnewintegrationplugi.htm

    When user verifies his email, and has got his free subscription marked as "completed", plugin hooks will be called like he has finished subscription payment (finish_waiting_payment hook).

    2. You can do that on any PHP page:

    PHP:
    <?php
    session_start
    ();

    print 
    "login=".$_SESSION['_amember_user']['login']."<br/>"
    print 
    "name_f=".$_SESSION['_amember_user']['name_f']."<br/>"
    ?>
    And so on. Of course, it works only when customer is logged-in.
  3. juniorm

    juniorm aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Great!

    Thanks for the help - Once again I should read the help, which seems to explain this quite well.

    I just need to hope my PHP will be up to it!


    Thanks again.
  4. juniorm

    juniorm aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    More help with php plugins :-(

    Actually, I'm stumped again.

    I've created a plugin called 'game_setup' to handle my game user initialization

    I don't quite get the relevance of config.inc.php and the plugin setup page... is that needed?

    Is there something I'm missing here? Must be - as usual! :confused:
  5. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021

Share This Page