Seeing Product Detail On Secondary Purchases

Discussion in 'Pre-Sales Questions' started by gswaim, Jun 26, 2005.

  1. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    I actually have been using aMember for quite a while, but have a question.

    Is there a way to show a returning customer the same product detail as the first purchase? On a customer's first purchase they get a product name, price, and description. You can even show products by Price Groups IDs.

    On secondary purchases they just get a title and price and no description. I also don't think you can show a specific Price Group when they are a returning customer.

    Am I missing a configuration option ? Can this be done ?

    I am starting to sell classes on-line and the students will be purchasing on-line classes over a long period of time. It would be nice to be able to show the classes with the same functionality of the original purchase.

    Thanks in advance

    Grant
  2. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    Grant, it is possible by modification of member.html template.
    Edit file amember/templates/member.html
    find lines

    PHP:
    <select name=product_id size=1>
        <
    option value=0>** Select Product **
    {foreach 
    from=$products_to_renew item=p}
        <
    option value={$p.product_id
        {if 
    $p.product_id == $smarty.request.product_id}selected{/if}>{$p.title
        ({if 
    $p.price }{$config.currency|default:"$"}{$p.price}{else}free{/if}) 
    {/foreach}
    </
    select>
    replace to something like this:
    PHP:
    {foreach from=$products_to_renew item=p}
    <
    label><input type=radio name=product_id value="{$p.product_id}">

    {
    $p.title} ({if $p.price }{$config.currency|default:"$"}{$p.price}{else}free{/if})

    <
    br><small>{$p.description}</small>
    <
    br>
    </
    label>
       
    {/foreach}
  3. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    Alex,

    Thanks for this mod. The only thing is I use the multiple choice option which uses member_multi.html I see code that is similar, but not the same. Could you provide the code to change to list product details on the member_multi.html page?

    Thanks in advance for your help on this!

    Grant
  4. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    Replace to

    PHP:
    {foreach from=$products_to_renew item=p}
    <
    label><input type=checkbox name="product_id[]" value="{$p.product_id}">

    {
    $p.title} ({if $p.price }{$config.currency|default:"$"}{$p.price}{else}free{/if})

    <
    br><small>{$p.description}</small>
    <
    br>
    </
    label>
       
    {/foreach} 
  5. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    Alex,

    That worked great...Thanks

    Grant

Share This Page