Switching from Paypal_R to paypal_pro

Discussion in 'Payments processing' started by 1337ventures, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. 1337ventures

    1337ventures New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I recently switched from Paypal_R to Paypal_Pro , however I'm now concerned with the possibility of the recurring payments with the old paypal system not going through, as I can only notify one URL for IPN on paypal.

    If i've disabled the paypal_R plugin on amember, instead using paypal_pro , will the individuals on paypal_R still get billed and processed correctly, or is there a way to keep paypal_R enabled as a plugin , but invisible to users?

    Thanks!
  2. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,279
    You should not disable plugin because IPN messages will not be processed.
    Instead modify /amember/plugins/paypal_r/paypal_r.inc.php and change:
    and change this:
    Code:
    class payment_paypal_r extends amember_payment {
        var $title = _PLUG_PAY_PAYPALR_TITLE;
        var $description = _PLUG_PAY_PAYPALR_DESC;
        var $fixed_price=0;
        var $recurring=1;
        var $built_in_trials=0;//1;
        var $paypal_domain = null;
    
    Code:
    class payment_paypal_r extends amember_payment {
        var $title = _PLUG_PAY_PAYPALR_TITLE;
        var $description = _PLUG_PAY_PAYPALR_DESC;
        var $fixed_price=0;
        var $recurring=1;
        var $built_in_trials=0;//1;
        var $paypal_domain = null;
        var public=0
    
    
  3. 1337ventures

    1337ventures New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    After changing that , I now get :

    Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_PUBLIC, expecting T_VARIABLE in /home/user/public_html/domain.com/amember/plugins/payment/paypal_r/paypal_r.inc.php on line 29
  4. thehpmc

    thehpmc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    901
    Try adding a ; after var public=0

    I haven't looked at the actual script but presumably there is more code following that line and since all php instructions need to be ended with a semicolon that would seem a good place to start looking.
  5. 1337ventures

    1337ventures New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Unfortunately I'm still getting the error.
  6. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,279
    Sorry this was my mistake.
    Last line should be :
    var $public=0;
    and not
    var public=0
  7. zenpig66

    zenpig66 aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    When using both methods should the resend postback text field in the paypal_r plugin be set to forward to the paypal_pro/ipn.php script? I am assuming yes for that is how I've been using it but just making sure....there's really no other way for the paypal_pro script to receive payments otherwise, correct? The Error/Debug Log shows logs for paypal_r and paypal_pro on the new signups using the paypal_pro plugin and things like paypal_r ERROR: Cannot find corresponding aMember payment record for this payment but does get created under paypal_pro successfully. Conversely, subscription renewals based on the paypal_r script produces logs for both plugins as well but without errors being reported. Any known issues that might arise from this? Been doing it this way successfully(I think) for about 4 months now but again seeking any input.
  8. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,279
    There should not be any issues.
    IPN messages related to paypal_pro are different and will be just ignored by paypal_r plugin.
  9. 1337ventures

    1337ventures New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Well , what you said worked just fine, however now paypal has dropped my membership site due to 'risk'.

    In this time, I've processed a few recurring paypal subscriptions & paypal credit card subscriptions. These are rebilling fine, however they aren't processing any new ones. How can I make paypal_pro invisible like I did with paypal_r ? I tried adding the var $public=0; to the paypal_pro.inc.php as I did with the paypal_r plugin , however it takes out only the paypal subscription area, and not the credit card section.

    Thanks!
  10. zenpig66

    zenpig66 aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    you need to hardcode template/signup.html to something like

    Code:
    <tr>
        <th>#_TPL_SIGNUP_PAYSYS# *</th>
        <td>
            <input type="radio" id="paysys_idpaypal_pro" name="paysys_id" value="paypal_pro"/>
            <label for="paysys_idpaypal_pro"><b>Checkout with PayPal</b>
    		<!-- PayPal Logo --><a href="#" onclick="javascript:window.open('https://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=xpt/Marketing/popup/OLCWhatIsPayPal-outside','olcwhatispaypal','toolbar=no, location=no, directories=no, status=no, menubar=no, scrollbars=yes, resizable=yes, width=400, height=350');"><img  src="https://www.paypal.com/en_US/i/logo/PayPal_mark_50x34.gif" border="0" alt="Acceptance Mark"></a><!-- PayPal Logo -->	
    		</label><br /><br />	
    		<input type="radio" id="paysys_idpaypal_pro_cc" name="paysys_id" value="paypal_pro_cc"/>
    		<label for="paysys_idpaypal_pro_cc"><b>Credit Card Payment</b>
    		<img src="path to credit card image you have" width="179" height="30" border="0" alt="visa, mc, amex, discover"></label><br /><br />
         </td>
    </tr>
    View the source code of your signup page to give you an idea and just hardcode the payment processor you want to use in signup.html. Of course this shows mine where I am processing both paypal_r and paypal_pro but only want paypal_pro options on the signup.

Share This Page