URGENT! - Sign up form not working when I placed it in an html page

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by wa7edsoori, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. wa7edsoori

    wa7edsoori aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    I want to place the sign up form on one of my html pages and so I coped the code from the amember signup.php page and copied it into my html page and customized it. The form looks great and I can choose everything and fill in the information...except that when I click continue, nothing happens.....and i dont know why!
    can someone PLEASE check my code and try to figure out what the problem is???
    go to http://www.fitfactors.net/feature.html

    forget about how the page looks its not fully uploaded and thats y it looks funky....just choose any product and fill in the information and try to continue...this is really urgent i absolutely need to launch my site im so late!
  2. everbatim

    everbatim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Try saving your customized file as a PHP file and see if that does it. aMember does have some custom PHP code at the top of the page that won't execute if it's not in a PHP page. Your server obviously supports PHP and aMember as your aMember script does seem to be running and products are being pulled from the database. It looks like there are some other HTML quirks on that page as well (text running over images, and the background color clashes with the white product description text making the descriptions impossible to read) that need to be addressed.
  3. wa7edsoori

    wa7edsoori aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    so i cant include the form on a normal html page and have it post to the signup.php? How would I save my file as a php file? it's an html file at the moment
  4. miso

    miso aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    543
    oh man... why do people put together websites and membership software on this "last minute" mission so often, where you have to launch it like yesterday?

    and then, when it obviously doesn't work the way you'd want it to work, you raise all hell as if the world is coming down...

    not saying anything against anyone, just something I've noticed so many times with some clients (and potential clients).

    why not take an extra few days or weeks and get stuff sorted out properly, tested out and all, and then raise hell if something isn't working properly?
  5. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,437
    Ditto, but good luck getting people to do it...

    If your form isnt posting, then there's a problem with the form. Your code isnt correct.

    To start, this doesnt look right:
    <input type="submit" value="&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Proceed to Payment&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;" />
    <FORM><INPUT TYPE="button" VALUE="Back" onClick="history.go(-1);return true;"> </FORM>

    Get rid of the back button, and end the form properly.

    David
  6. wa7edsoori

    wa7edsoori aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    trust me ive taken weeks and weeks and months setting up the website and making sure everything works...but i decided a few days ago that placing the signup form on one of my html pages would yield higher conversions...my website is all finished, the reason it looks the way it does is because I havent all uploaded all the image files associated with this html page...this is the absolute last thing i have to do before my site is up and running...and its gonna be a great site by the way i'll let everyone know when its up, which should be a couple of days hopefully
  7. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,279
    The problem can be in Javascript code. aMember have field validation in javascript on signup page.
    Try to get rid of all javascript code.
  8. wa7edsoori

    wa7edsoori aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    I got it to work, it was a stupid mistake, thanx anyway guys...Alex what would happen if I remove all the javascript from the code?
  9. miso

    miso aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    543
    you get rid of all the jquery validation (on the page errors that pop up when you miss a field).
  10. curlyroger

    curlyroger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    wa7edsoori - I'm curious what your stupid mistake was because I am running into the EXACT same problem. On signup.php, submit does nothing.

    I had a working signup page on my website. I then modified my header.html and footer.html to match my newly redesigned website template... however now my signup now longer works. If I fill in all info apporpriately, submitting does nothing - it just sits there. If you have invalid data, the AJAX warns you appropriately but a valid form won't submit.

    I figured out getting rid of the jquery stuff fixes it (like miso suggested) but I'd like to figure out what the problem is.

    Thanks!
  11. curlyroger

    curlyroger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    I believe I found the source of my problem .. a bad base href

    My website template makes use of base href, so when I updated my header.html, I copied over this base href code:

    Code:
      <base href="http://<? echo $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] ?>/" />
    Everything worked great on signup.php except for the submit. When I removed or modified the base href line, it worked. I can only assume that since it is /my-account/signup.php that the base href was blowing up a URL somewhere. So, when I changed it to this, it works:

    Code:
      <base href="http://<? echo $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] ?>/my-account/" />
    (I have amember installed in /my-account rather than /amember)

Share This Page