Weak passwords

Discussion in 'Integration' started by weburs, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. weburs

    weburs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Hi everybody,

    I am currently integrating aMember as membership administration tool for our system. So far, everything works fine and I am absolutely happy about this solution. My only question I have is about preventing weak user passwords. Is there a way to set a policy for this. I have seen minimum password length setting etc, but what about "username" und "password" should be different? Blacklisting "test", "admin", "secret" and some other well known passwords?

    Is there a possibility to set such rules?
  2. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,437
    This can be done in amember admin / setup / ban
    Denied usernames address list


    I was thinking about this too- it should be easy for amember to add this to the javascript code for the signup/profile pages.

    David
  3. weburs

    weburs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks a lot for your reply.

    I think this feature would be worth integrating it. Maybe, this will come in the future.

    Cann you please tell me where I can find the javascript code you mentioned? I'll try to implement the feature myself in the meantime.

    Stefan
  4. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,437
  5. jenolan

    jenolan aMember Coder

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Just don't forget if the validation is not also done server side js validation can be circumnavigated.
  6. miso

    miso aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    543
    I found that auto generated passwords in aMember are decent enough... but yea, people can always change those to something simple (then again, if they do that, and their account gets hacked in somehow, whose fault is it again?)
  7. weburs

    weburs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Thank for all your replies.

    I solved the problem by adding following lines to the function "check_payment_form()":

    This should be good enough for now.

    Code:
    if (strtolower($vars['pass0']) == strtolower($vars['login'])){
            $error[] = _SIGNUP_INVALID_PASS_3;
        }
    Thanks, Stefan

Share This Page